How to downgrade Windows 10 after a month

In a way, Microsoft was generous in offering this option from the start. We have explained step by step how to use the Windows 10 recovery feature.

But after a month, this option will disappear with your old version of Windows and then you’re stuck with Windows 10. It’s not that difficult – check out our Windows 10 review for know the reason – but if you just discover incompatibilities, what can you do when you roll back to Windows 7 or 8?

Here are some options open to you.

How to downgrade Windows 10 in 30 days: clean install

After 30 days have passed since you upgraded to Windows 10, it will automatically delete your old Windows files (held in a folder called Windows.old) along with files in two important hidden folders. other: $Windows. ~BT and $Windows. ~ WS.

You can check these folders by enabling ‘Hidden Items’ in the View tab in File Explorer. But even if those folders still exist after 30 days, it’s likely that the files inside them were deleted to prevent them from using up a lot of unnecessary disk space. This means you cannot go back.

How to downgrade Windows 10 in a month

One obvious way to get around this is to use your Windows 7 (or 8) disk and activation key. It’s not exactly a simple process as you’ll need to back everything up, then wipe the hard disk and start from scratch. After installing Windows, you need to install drivers for your hardware, then all your software, and finally your documents and all other files and settings that you backed up. And, of course, hundreds of Windows updates.

Read More:   How To Zip & Unzip Files On A Chromebook

If you have a disc but lost your activation key, you can extract it from Windows 10 by pressing the Windows key and R to bring up the Run box. Then type cmd and press enter. Then copy and paste this code at the command prompt that will pop up:

wmic path softwarelicensingservice get OA3xOriginalProductKey

Press Enter and your original product key for the previous version of Windows will be displayed.

How to downgrade Windows 10 in 30 days: Factory reset

Many laptops and PCs have a hidden partition on the hard drive that holds a copy of the original Windows, the programs, drivers, and settings that were on your PC when it arrived. Upgrading to Windows 10 shouldn’t affect this, so it should remain intact.

Whether you can access it or not is another matter. Usually, you can look for a message while your computer is booting, such as “Press F11 for recovery options”. When you press the appropriate key, you will see a menu that includes a factory reset option. For more details, including keys to press on different laptops, see How to reset a laptop to factory settings (this also applies to some PCs).

How to downgrade Windows 10 in a month

On some computers, you will still have a Windows application that allows you to perform a restore using the manufacturer’s own method. For example, on the Acer Aspire laptop, we find the Acer Recovery Manager application that makes it simple to roll back to the original version of Windows that came in the box.

Performing a restore will wipe the C: drive, so you will lose all your personal files and settings. So you’ll still have to back these up, and you’ll still have plenty of Windows updates and programs to install once the restore is complete. You don’t have to worry about anything not working, as the drivers will be reinstalled. But any hardware you’ve added will have to reinstall software or drivers, such as printers.

Read More:   How to Fix Windows 10 Start Menu Not Working

How to downgrade Windows 10 in 30 days: Third-party backup software

If you’re thinking of upgrading to Windows 10 (or just did) and don’t want the 30-day limit, there are two different options.

Before upgrading:

Hard drive imaging software is nothing new: Acronis, Norton Ghost, and the like already let you create a complete copy of your hard disk so you can quickly roll back in the event of a hard drive failure or several other disasters. You can use these or something specific like EaseUs System GoBack which is designed to let you roll back to a previous version of Windows.

Naturally, you need to install and use this type of software BEFORE upgrading.

After upgrade:

If you upgraded but are within the 30-day recovery period, you can enable hidden items (as described above) and rename the three folders that Windows will attempt to delete. If it can’t find the folders – because you changed their names – it can’t delete them. We can’t verify this works, but some users have reported that renaming folders back to their original names after 30 days brings up the recovery option you’ll find in Start > Settings > Update and Security > Recovery.

Last, What’s In Your Box sent you details about the topic “How to downgrade Windows 10 after a month❤️️”.Hope with useful information that the article “How to downgrade Windows 10 after a month” It will help readers to be more interested in “How to downgrade Windows 10 after a month [ ❤️️❤️️ ]”.

Posts “How to downgrade Windows 10 after a month” posted by on 2015-12-03 11:28:00. Thank you for reading the article at whatsinyourbox.org

Back to top button